Breakfast for Lunch: Omelet

There’s nothing worse than looking into your refrigerator and having no clue what to eat. That’s how I felt earlier when I was trying to decide what to have for lunch. I noticed that I still had leftover ground beef from something I had cooked over the past weekend so I thought to myself, “Hmm…What can I cook with this?” Then I searched around my fridge a little more and saw that I also had a whole new carton of eggs I hadn’t even touched yet. I immediately got excited and decided that I was going to make an omelet. Only problem was…I’d never made one before.

But don’t worry friends, there’s how-to video tutorials for everything nowadays…literally, I’m not kidding. Here’s the super easy and short tutorial I watched before I made my omelet. How To Make an Omelet

The best thing about making an omelet is that you can put pretty much put whatever you want in it. Aside from the eggs and ground beef, I also decided to use mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, and shredded cheddar cheese. There was no need for me to go to the store, I had all the ingredients in my fridge already, yay. Take a look of my step-by-step first omelet-making experience.

photo

Ingredients

photo(1)

Make sure to beat the eggs in a bowl.

I used two, and added salt and pepper.

photo 1

Before I started the omelet, I sauteed my

onions and mushrooms in a pan to make

sure they were thoroughly cooked.

photo 2

And the omelet process begins! Don’t

forget to use oil, butter, or Pam spray so the

eggs don’t stick to the pan (I used Pam).

photo 3(1)

Put all your ingredients on one half of

the eggs and let it sit for about 10-20 seconds.

photo 4

Here’s the most nerve-racking part, the

flip! Looks like I may have put a little too

much stuffing in my omelet, oops. Something

to keep in mind for next time.

photo 5

And voila! Here’s the finished product. I ate mine

with a little fat-free sour cream and Tobasco sauce.

I’d say I did a pretty darn good job for my first time. It was super easy and only took about 15 minutes to prepare and cook. Definitely will have to make another again. What should I put into my omelet next time around?

Alright, well I’m off to my next class. Hope you all have a good rest of your HUMP DAY! ;]

Leave a Reply

