Sunday Dinner: Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Happy Sunday everyone! Even though the day is almost over, I am so excited to share what I made for Sunday dinner tonight! I made my first slow cooker pot roast, and it turned out so, so good. My mom gave me a big three pound beef chuck when I visited home last weekend and I had no idea what to do with it. The only thing I could think of to make was a pot roast so I Googled a basic recipe and went to Wal-Mart to get the other ingredients.

Image

I was really nervous because I feel like a pot roast is such a grown-up dish so I didn’t want to screw it up. Pot roast is by no means the cheapest or healthiest meal but it’s really time convenient and can serve a big group of people which I like. The beef itself was from a Hy-Vee grocery store and was about $13. Hy-Vee has a much better selection for food (especially produce) but I’ve learned you save so much more money grocery shopping at Wal-Mart. Also, another money-saving tip I use is always buying the generic Wal-Mart “Great Value” brand instead of name brand which always costs more. The money you save by doing this adds up!

Anyway, as usual, I found a basic recipe but by reading other pot roast recipes, I decided to add what I thought would taste best to the basic recipe. Here’s the original recipe I based my pot roast off of.

Some additional ingredients not included in the recipe were beef broth to thin out the cream of mushroom soup, onion wedges, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, and parsley flakes. Also, to add more flavor, I sprinkled salt and pepper onto the beef chuck and browned all the sides on a pan before I put it into the slow cooker. It takes time for it to cook but the flavor I got in the end product made it worth it. I got two thumbs up from my roommates and they had seconds. No better feeling than that.

Image

Some additional ingredients not included in the recipe were beef broth to thin out the cream of mushroom soup, onion wedges, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, and parsley flakes. Also, to add more flavor, I sprinkled salt and pepper onto the beef chuck and browned all the sides on a pan before I put it into the slow cooker. It takes time for it to cook but the flavor I got in the end product made it worth it. I got two thumbs up from my roommates and they had seconds. No better feeling than that.

Image

Isn’t it beautiful? I joked with my boyfriend that he needs to “wife me up” because I literally feel like such a housewife after cooking this meal. I FEEL SO OLD!!!

Don’t ever be intimidated of cooking girls, I swear it’s fun =]

Leave a Reply

