Pinterest Projects: Christmas Reindeer Glitter Art

December is here (can’t believe it), which officially marks the start of the most wonderful time of the year! What a better way to get into the holiday spirit than to decorate your college space with fun (and affordable) Christmas decorations.

Although I found about 973429 cute DIY ideas to choose from on Pinterest, I decided on making an easy glitter reindeer art piece I saw in a pin by Bliss at Home.

deer materials

 

The only materials you need is a reindeer head silhouette that you can find on Google, a canvas (I used one that was 8 X 11), Elmer’s glue, and glitter.

  1. Trace your reindeer head silhouette onto the canvas (or you can obviously free draw as well)
  2. Spread your glue inside your tracing
  3. Pour a heavy layer of glitter on top and give it a few minutes to dry before you shake off the excess
  4. If necessary, you can use a toothpick to create more defined lines or spray the glitter with hairspray after it’s finished drying to ensure extra-hold

finished deer head

Here’s the final project which probably took ten minutes and only cost me $5.47 for two 8 X 11 canvases and $5.99 for a large bottle of gold glitter. Isn’t it so simple and classy?! I loved how it turned out and can’t wait to hang it up.

Something I didn’t make myself  but I’m a bit obsessed with is a wine bottle my roommate Caitlin brought from home which has a hole drilled in the back so you can put Christmas lights in it.

light up wine

I want to have a million more of these! And because my apartment is the cutest, here are some pictures of our other holiday decorations so far.

xmas tree

Thanks Lizzy for bringing up your Christmas tree and decorations from home 🙂

stockings

Thanks Taylor for buying us stockings and Liz for writing our names on them with puffy paint 🙂

snowflakesThanks Caitlin and your elementary students for the pretty paper snowflakes 🙂

Please ignore the ghosts we still have up, we didn’t have the heart to take those cuties down. Anyways, I hope you liked my first “Pinterest Projects” post and the pictures of Apartment 8 during the holidays. Next Tuesday I’ll be sharing how other girls in Iowa City are decorating their apartments in a special “College Cribs” post I’ve been working very hard on!

Have a good weekend everyone and stay warm!!! I don’t know about you but this weather is slowly killing me…

Leave a Reply

