Back-to-School Workout Challenge

Although I still have a week left of my winter break, I know many of you have already started your second semester, which totally sucks I’m so sorry. But going back to school also means getting back to working out, because like many of you, I know I have been slacking in that department this past month. I didn’t have time to get to the gym the other night so I came up with this 35 minute cardio and strength workout routine inspired by a bootcamp class I take at my university’s recreational center and Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred that incorporates some of my favorite exercises. It switches back and forth from 6 minutes of strength training to 3 minutes of cardio exercises. I’m a huge fan of interval-based workouts because you can fit in your cardio and strength exercises in a short routine and it doesn’t leave you dying from long periods of high intensity cardio (such as in Insanity, god I hated those videos). Also, it’s been proven that interval-training fitness systems actually burn more calories than traditional fitness systems with no varying levels of intensity, so i’ll take it.

photo

So here is my Back-to-School Workout that you can do straight from your room, 3 times a week to help you tone up and get your Spring Break body.  All you need is a pair of free weights (I suggest 5-8 lbs.), a mat, a timer, and lots of water. Do each exercise for 1 minute.

Arms

1. Shoulder Press

2. Bicep Curls

3. One-Arm Tricep Extension (Right)

4. One-Arm Tricep Extension (Left)

5. Standing Chest Fly

6. Push-ups

Cardio

1. Burpees

2. High-Knees

3. Jumping Jacks

Legs

1. Squats with Overhead Shoulder Press and Calf Raise

2. Alternating Forward Lunges with Bicep Curls

3. Alternating Reverse Lunges with Bicep Curls

4. Alternating Side Lunges

5. Plie Squats with Calf Raise

6. Stiff Legged Dead Lift

Cardio

1. Mountain Climbers

2. Jump Rope

3. Jumping Jacks

Abs

1. Roll Up

2. Leg Lifts

3. V-Up and Roll-Up

4. Bicycle Crunch

5. Alternating Heel Touchers

6. Plank (on hands or elbows)

Cardio

1. Jump Squats

2. Lateral Skater Jumps

3. Jumping Jacks

Back

1. Bent Over Row

2. Dumbbell Floor Press

3. Dumbbell One-Point Row (right)

4. Dumbbell One-Point Row (left)

5. Superman

6. Plank

Stretch

So there it is, my Back-to-School Workout challenge! Try it out playing your favorite work-out playlist and let me know how you like it! New year, new body right?

Anyway, have a good first week back my college gals! Enjoy syllabus week for me! ;]

3 thoughts on “Back-to-School Workout Challenge

  1. Pingback: Strength Training Workout for Upper Body Muscle Groups | Home Exercise Equipment

  2. Pingback: Fitness Fridays: Leg Day is Important Too... » REGO’S LIFEREGO’S LIFE

Leave a Reply

